What should I consider before updating Kernel 5.10 - 5.13?

I have Manjaro 21.1, Gnome 40.3
I noticed the news about Manjaro 21.1 having Kernel 5.13, but mine is still 5.10.
I’m wondering if I should upgrade via the Manjaro Settings Manager or just stick with 5.10 ~
Is it safe to upgrade, what issues might occur?

I am fairly new to Linux & i have never done a kernel update like this before, so just looking for some general advice.

Nothing much.

Technically, you don’t upgrade the kernel, you rather install a newer version alongside the older one. If you boot with multiple versions installed, the newer one will be used by default.
If you do want to remove the old one, be sure to do so after rebooting to the newer one.

Out of this, 5.10 is a Long Term Support kernel, while 5.13 is not. So installing 5.13 will require you to change it for 5.14 when the latter will come out, while you can keep the 5.10 for much, much longer.

5 Likes

The only reason you’d need 5.13 is if 5.10 doesn’t properly support your hardware, but 5.13 does.

1 Like

Thanks, this is great advice.

2 more reasons:

• there’s some new cool feature in a newer kernel you wanna try;
  • some regression introduced to your current kernel with a routine update (this happens sometimes) and you want to know if it also affects newer kernels before filing a bug report.
1 Like

At least another one reason - file system using: btrfs Wiki

Some news sites make it sound like the current standard release has the 5.13 kernel.

My Manjaro says ‘rolling release’, & was from the official download page (top one). So does this article mean people are downloading the standard release like me & then changing the kernel?

You said 5.10 is LTS, but I did not download the LTS version of Manjaro afaik… I’m a little confused about this as I thought rolling release & LTS were different.

I’d just want to understand better what the versions mean.