A short script to incorporate filesystem changes for people who dual-boot

:warning: Despite my best efforts, people will misuse this script. Mainly because they probably won’t slow down to read everything in this post. I’ve had done everything I can for people to second-guess, double-check and confirm actions before committing, but this isn’t for complete newbies.

Please read before you inadvertently destroy your filesystem.
I’m not being dramatic, I’m serious.

I’ve written countless times about how to symbolically link or configure XDG directories for creating filesystems which utilize the existing directories generated by Microsoft Windows or at another persistent, at-boot mountpoint defined in /etc/fstab for creating a dual-boot environment which doesn’t bog down the user with redundancy and duplicate directories / files, but I understand how difficult it may be for some who aren’t familiar with the concept to perform such actions.

With this understanding, I’ve developed a basic script with a menu. Because I wish not to cause any concern for malicius software, I am going to initially share this script here for @moderators to observe, check and vallidate it is clean code and good for the community before I create a file in my GitHub for other people to see, and also to accept input by people who know scripting better than I do. A lot of this came from examples and discussions online, which was effectively my crash course for Bash.

This is also the first time I made a good choice menu in Bash. Once I had a basic understanding and found enough generated examples I was able to create this script which has very few provisions to prevent users from screwing up. So here’s the script…

# Migration script for transferring contents from an existing Linux home directory to mounted shared partition
#
# Intended for people who dual-boot, the partition where personal effects will be shared between Linux and Windows