Author Topic: Backup the main panel  (Read 1264 times)

Offline TraceTopic starter

• Neuling
  • Desktop: XFCE
  • Branch: testing
  • Skill: Novice
Backup the main panel
« on: 22. March 2014, 00:02:26 »
Hi!

I am new in KDE and... deleted my beautiful Manjaro panel (something like "Start" in Windows). How can I backup it to be exactly as it was? Now I have default KDE panel (I think).

Sorry for my English, hope you understood ;].

Offline drawDaeye

• Sr. Mitglied
  • I broke it and didn't try.
  • Kernel: linux 3.13.6-1Manjaro-x64
  • Desktop: KDE (community)
  • Branch: Stable
  • GPU Card: ATi Radion HD 7970
  • GPU driver: non-free drivers
  • Skill: Intermediate
Re: Backup the main panel
« Reply #1 on: 22. March 2014, 08:08:50 »
Hey Trace, welcome to the community.
The cashew icon in the corner of the screen on your desktop, click on it, select "add panel" after that, click on the new panel's cashew icon and select "add new widgets", then select the menu/application launcher, double click on it and move it to where you want it. I would suggest adding system tray as well. Then you can lock the panel so you don't delete it again. You can do this by clicking on the panels cashew icon, "more settings" and select "lock panel." I hope this helps. YouTube videos will help you to get you used to the many features it has, and will make KDE easier to use.
« Last Edit: 22. March 2014, 08:14:19 by drawDaeye »
Cheers!

Offline excalibur1234

• Global Moderator
  • Kernel: 4.1
  • Desktop: net-minimal + LXQt
  • Branch: unstable
  • GPU driver: nvidia-340xx
« Reply #2 on: 22. March 2014, 11:18:02 »
i recommend to watch youtube videos as well. just search for "kde custom panel" and you will learn a lot.

i am not very familiar with kde as well and i learned a lot by watching youtube videos.
i needed about a day until i got everything working the way i like it.
after doing so much tweaking, i started to notice the "internal logic" of kde.